2000 National Championship

Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union

The third annual CIAU Women's Ice Hockey Championship was held at Concordia University in Montreal from February 24-27, 2000. The top six university teams from across Canada competed for the national title, with the Alberta Pandas claiming the 2000 CIAU Championship for women's hockey.

There were two pools of three teams. Each pool played a round robin from February 24-26. The top two teams after the round robin competition played for the gold medal. The second place finishers played for third place, and the bottom two teams met in the fifth place game.

	Pool A                     Pool B
	Ontario Champion           Quebec Champion
	Host/Quebec Runner-up      Ontario Runner-Up
	AUAA                       Canada West

The medal games took place Sunday, February 27. The third place match was scheduled for 11 am and was televised by CTV Sportsnet. The Championship game was played at 7 pm and was broadcasted by TSN and RDS.

Ticket prices

Tournament passes - Adults $35; Seniors/Students $20; Children $15
Single game       - Adults $ 8; Seniors/Students $ 5; Children $ 3
Medal round game  - Adults $10; Seniors/Students $ 7; Children $ 5

Game Schedule

Thursday, February 24:
Canadian Nationals  (@Concordia)
  Toronto          5 vs Francis Xavier   0                  12:00 pm 
  Alberta          4 vs Guelph           2                   3:00 pm 

Friday, February 25:
Canadian Nationals  (@Concordia)
  McGill           5 vs Francis Xavier   0                   3:00 pm 
  Concordia        3 vs Guelph           1                   7:00 pm 

Saturday, February 26:
Canadian Nationals  (@Concordia)
  McGill           2 vs Toronto          1                  12:00 pm 
  Concordia        2 vs Alberta          3    SO             4:00 pm 

Sunday, February 27:
Canadian Nationals  (@Concordia)
  Concordia        6 vs Toronto          0       3rd pl     11:00 am
  Guelph           4 vs Francis Xavier   1       5th pl      3:00 pm
  Alberta          2 vs McGill           0       Champion    7:00 pm


Much thanks to Richard Hungerford for providing the information on this web page. For more of his coverage, please see the RHUN site.

Final Placings

  1. University of Alberta (CWUAA Champion)
  2. McGill University (QSSF 2nd place)
  3. Concordia University (QSSF Champion/Host)
  4. University of Toronto (OUA Champion)
  5. University of Guelph (OUA 2nd place)
  6. St. Francis Xavier (AUAA Champion)

Relevant Information

Related Links

This page is maintained by © 2000 Andria Hunter (andria@cs.toronto.edu).

The Women's Hockey Web - Quick Index
Main Index:
General Info
Country | University
Player Profiles
Hockey Cards
Links | FAQ

Hockey Schools

Hockey Web

Hockey Tips:
Shooting | Skating

Other Women's Sports:
Inline Hockey
Roller Hockey
Ball Hockey
URL:  http://www.whockey.com/univ/ciau/2000/index.html