Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS)
Women's Hockey

Canadian Interuniversity Sport

General Information

Canadian women's university hockey teams compete under the umbrella of Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS). The CIS was formerly called the Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union (CIAU). League play in the CIS takes place within four regions in Canada: the Canada West (CWUAA), Ontario (OUA), Quebec (QSSF), and Atlantic (AUAA) regions. Please see the Canadian women's university hockey page for a complete list of teams in the CIS.

Now that women's hockey is a CIS sport (as of the 1997-98 season), women's hockey players will have to follow the standard five-year eligibility rule. If you need to get in contact with a women's hockey coach in the CIS, please see this directory for further contact information.

CIS National Championships

Here is a news blurb from Montreal to announce the inauguaral event, "The CIAU (Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union), which is the American eqivilant of the NCAA, has announced it will hold a women's Ice Hockey Championship in 1998. It's the first time that women's hockey will be recognized as a national sports and that the governing body will fund a championship and All-Canadian dinner. It will take place from February 26 to March 1, 1998, right on the heels of the Winter Olympics. Concordia University in Montreal, Quebec, will be the championship site."

The Scoreboard

This page is maintained by © 1998 Andria Hunter (

The Women's Hockey Web - Quick Index
Main Index:
General Info
Country | University
Player Profiles
Hockey Cards
Links | FAQ

Hockey Schools

Hockey Web

Hockey Tips:
Shooting | Skating

Other Women's Sports:
Inline Hockey
Roller Hockey
Ball Hockey