Elite Women's Hockey Recap
May 11, 2017

The elite women's hockey leagues in North America battled it out for the championships in March 2017. Both the National Women's Hockey League (NWHL) and the Canadian Women's Hockey League (CWHL) came to a close at the end of March 2017.Congratulations to the Buffalo Beauts who claimed the Isobel Cup in the NWHL, and to Les Canadiens Montreal who claimed the Clarkson Cup in the CWHL!

National Women's Hockey League (NWHL)

The NWHL, which was formed in 2015 is comprised of four teams, primarily on the east coach of the United States. The teams in the league include the Boston Pride, the Buffalo Beauts, the Connecticut Whale, and the New York Riveters. The majority of the women who compete in this league previously played for various university women's hockey teams in the United States.

The regular season saw a lot of exciting closely contested games. Boston lead the regular season, with 16 wins and 1 loss in 17 games. The remaining teams were New York with 19 points, Buffalo with 13 points, and Connecticut with 11 points.

The 2017 Isobel Cup took place from March 16-19 at various arena. Number 1 seeded Boston defeated number 4 seeded Connecticut 8-2 and number 3 seeded Buffalo Beauts overturned number 2 seeded New York Riveters 4-2. There was another unexpected surprise in the fainal match for the Isobel Cup final on March 19th. The number 3 ranked Buffalo Beauts came out in full force, as they defeated the number 1 ranked Boston Pride by a score of 3-2 to claim the Isolbel Cup.

When you take to the ice in Break Away at the Red Flush online casino, you will find everything you need for your online entertainment. Smash your way to big wins in Break Away, an action-packed slot that offers everything from the roar of the crowd to Rolling Reels™, Smashing Wilds™, Stacked Wilds™ and up to 25 Free Spins! The fun is unlimited at Red Flush online.

Canadian Women's Hockey League (CWHL)

The CWHL, which was formed in 2009 is comprised of five teams. All teams are located in Canada, except the Boston Blades. The teams in the league include the Boston Blades, the Brampton Thunder, the Calgary Inferno, Les Canadiennes de Montreal, and the Toronto Furies.

As in the NWHL, the games in the CWHL were all very close. The Calgary Inferno led the league, with 20 wins in 24 games played. The remaiing teams were Les Canadiennes de Montreal with 36 points, the Brampton Thunder with 26 points, the Toronto Furies with 22 points, and the Boston Blades with 6 points. The top four teams advanced to the playoffs, to fight for the Clarkson Cup.

The playoffs were spread over two weekends at the end of February and the beginning of March. 1st place Calgary won their best 2 out of 3 series againsta 4th place Toronto in three games. It took second place Montreal only 2 games to defeat third place Brampton. Montreal and Calgary battled it out in a single gold-medal championship game on Sunday March 5th, with Montreal winning 3-1 to claim the 2017 Clarkson Cup!


This page is maintained by © 2017 Andria Hunter (andria@whockey.com).

The Women's Hockey Web - Quick Index
Main Index:
General Info
Country | University
Player Profiles
Hockey Cards
Links | FAQ

Hockey Schools

Hockey Web

Hockey Tips:
Shooting | Skating

Other Women's Sports:
Inline Hockey
Roller Hockey
Ball Hockey
URL:  http://www.whockey.com/mews/2017/EliteWomensHockey.html