Women's World Hockey Championships
B Pool (Division I)

General Information

Up until the 1997 World Championship, there was only a single division for the Women's World Hockey Championship. Since 1999, there are now three World Championship divisions: A Pool, B Pool, and B Pool Qualification. These tournaments have replaced the former European Championships.

In the first year, 1998, there were two tournaments that were used to decide which teams would compete in each pool for the first time. There was a Pool B Qualification held in France from January 27-29 1998, and a Pool A Qualification, which took place from March 23-27th 1998 in Germany and Switzerland.

The qualification process is now such that the winner of the B Pool World Championship is promoted to the A Pool World Championship the next year. The lowest placed team in the B Pool World Championship is relegated to the B Pool Qualification tournament the next year.

Pool B Results by Year

Winners by Year

This page is maintained by © 1998 Andria Hunter (andria@whockey.com).

The Women's Hockey Web - Quick Index
Main Index:
General Info
Country | University
Player Profiles
Hockey Cards
Links | FAQ

Hockey Schools

Hockey Web

Hockey Tips:
Shooting | Skating

Other Women's Sports:
Inline Hockey
Roller Hockey
Ball Hockey
URL:  http://www.whockey.com/int/wwc_b/index.html