Women's World Hockey Championships
Division I Qualification

General Information

Up until the 1997 World Championship, there was only a single division for the Women's World Hockey Championship. Since 1999, there are now three World Championship divisions: the main world championship, Division I, and Division I Qualification. These championships have replaced the former European Championships.

In the first year, 1998, there were two tournaments that were used to decide which teams would compete in each pool for the first time. There was a Division I Qualification held in France from January 27-29 1998, and a Qualification for the main world championship, which took place from March 23-27th 1998 in Germany and Switzerland.

The qualification process is now such that the winners of the Group A and Group B Division I Qualification tournaments are promoted to the Division I World Championship the next year.

Division I Qualification - Results by Year

Winners by Year

This page is maintained by © 1998 Andria Hunter (andria@whockey.com).

The Women's Hockey Web - Quick Index
Main Index:
General Info
Country | University
Player Profiles
Hockey Cards
Links | FAQ

Hockey Schools

Hockey Web

Hockey Tips:
Shooting | Skating

Other Women's Sports:
Inline Hockey
Roller Hockey
Ball Hockey
URL:  http://www.whockey.com/int/qual/index.html