1998 USA Hockey Women's National Festival

Olympic gold medalist Jenny Schmidgall of Edina is among 13 Minnesotans chosen to participate in the USA Hockey Women's Festival later this month in Lake Placid, N.Y.

Joining Schmidgall are forwards Krissy Wendell of Brooklyn Park, Melisa Heitzmen of Bloomington, Angela Rieger of Courtland, Laura Slominski of Burnsville, Myia Yates of St. Paul, Natalie Darwitz of Eagan, Ronda Curtin of Roseville and Angela Francisco of Duluth; defensemen Bethany Petersen of Bloomington, Winny Brodt of Roseville and Brittny Ralph of Brooklyn Center; and goaltender Jackie MacMillian of Buffalo. Other players with Minnesota ties are goaltender Erica Killewald, forward Ambria Thomas and defenseman Courtney Kennedy of the Gophers; forwards Kim Corona of Mankato State and Kristie Hofer of Bemidji State; and defenseman Kelli Halcisak of Shattuck St. Mary's.

The 72 participants are divided among four teams that will compete in a round-robin tournament. Gophers coach Laura Halldorson will be an assistant coach for the Blue team, and North Dakota men's coach Dean Blais will coach the Gold team. The festival, which will be held Aug. 22-30, is used by USA Hockey officials to identify and develop players for the national team.

Related Links

This page is maintained by © 1998 Andria Hunter (andria@whockey.com).

The Women's Hockey Web - Quick Index
Main Index:
General Info
Country | University
Player Profiles
Hockey Cards
Links | FAQ

Hockey Schools

Hockey Web

Hockey Tips:
Shooting | Skating

Other Women's Sports:
Inline Hockey
Roller Hockey
Ball Hockey
URL:  http://www.whockey.com/country/usa/roster/fest_1998.html