Central Ontario Women's Hockey League History

Welcome to the NHL of female ice hockey. The Central Ontario Women's Hockey League is host to the highest level of play of female hockey in Ontario. The exact anniversary date of the Central Ontario Women's Hockey League is not known, but it is fact that it has been in existence for at least thirty years. The original teams included Don Mills, Lambton, Canadettes (Brampton) and Burlington. There have been as few as three teams and as many as nine in any given season. For the most part, strength in the league has come in waves. In the late seventies and early eighties, Agincourt Canadians dominated. Hamilton Golden Hawks reigned in the mid-to-late eighties and the North York Aeros (formerly the Toronto Aeros) picked up where Hamilton left off and have been provincial champions every year with the exception of 1994/95 when the Mississauga Chiefs won the provincial title.

The league is and has always been the only one in this province at the AAA (formerly A and AA) level. The numbers and the names of the member teams have changed over the years, but the major focus has been with teams in the Toronto area. This is year there are eight teams registered in the COWHL. In the Eastern Division are the North York Beatrice Aeros, Scarborough Sting, Mississauga Chiefs, and Brampton Thunder, and in the Western Division are the NCCP Raiders, Jofa Titan, Le Mistral, and Wingstar Bonaventure.

The COWHL has always been a major drawing base for both provincial and national teams. Since the first national tournament in 1981/82, Team Ontario has been represented by the winner of the Provincial AAA Championship Tournament. Ontario has captured six gold, four silver and three bronze medals in the 16 tournaments held to date.

Since the introduction of the World Championships in 1990, the COWHL has been well represented on Team Canada. The figure is close to 40 percent. Team Canada has brought home the gold medal from all four World Championships to date: 1990 in Ottawa, 1992 in Finland, 1994 in Lake Placid USA, and 1997 in Kitchener.

The dream has been realized -- women's hockey is now in the Winter Olympics! Many players in the COWHL brought that dream to fruition. Team Canada claimed the silver medal at the first-ever Olympics in Japan in 1998.

The COWHL eventually changed its name to the National Women's Hockey League (NWHL), and as of September 2007 changed its name to the Canadian Women's Hockey League (CWHL).

Related Links

This page is maintained by © 1998 Andria Hunter (

The Women's Hockey Web - Quick Index
Main Index:
General Info
Country | University
Player Profiles
Hockey Cards
Links | FAQ

Hockey Schools

Hockey Web

Hockey Tips:
Shooting | Skating

Other Women's Sports:
Inline Hockey
Roller Hockey
Ball Hockey